Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Choose Topics


Thank You for Subscribing to the PITI-VITI Mailing List!

Telegram icon

Subscribe to our

Mailing List

Thanks for your interest in PITI-VITI and our programs! To sign up to received notifications, please enter your email address below and indicate which topics you're interested in. We do not share your information, and you can opt out of our mailing list at any time.

content header icon of Palau EAG Members Palau EAG Members

The Palau Economic Advisory Group is comprised of five members: two designated by the President of Palau, two designated by the Government of the United States, the fifth chosen by the Government of the United States from a list of three submitted by the President of Palau. The members follow below.

User Image of James Galbraith

James Galbraith


James K. Galbraith holds the Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and a professorship in Government at The University of Texas at Austin. He was executive director of the Joint Economic Committee of the United States Congress in the early 1980s, and before that, an economist for the House Banking Committee. He chaired the board of Economists for Peace and Security from 1996 to 2016 and directs The University of Texas Inequality Project. He is a managing editor of Structural Change and Economic Dynamics.

read more about team member James GalbraithMore Info
User Image of Denise Konan

Denise Konan


Dr. Denise Eby Konan is Dean of the College of Social Sciences and Professor of Economics at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa (UHM). As Dean, she provides leadership to twelve academic departments that deliver nearly a fifth of degrees offered on campus.

read more about team member Denise KonanMore Info
User Image of Peter Watson

Peter Watson

Investment Banker and Policy Adviser

Peter is President & CEO of The Dwight Group, the D.C.- based investment bank. He previously was appointed by President G. W. Bush as Chairman, President & CEO of the U.S. Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), now the U.S. Development Finance Corporation (DFC). Prior to OPIC, Peter was Chairman of the U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC), being appointed to the ITC by President H.W. Bush, and Chairman by President William J. Clinton.

read more about team member Peter WatsonMore Info
User Image of Kaleb Udui Jr.

Kaleb Udui Jr.

Minister of Finance

Mr. Kaleb Udui is the new Minister of Finance for the Republic of Palau having been sworn into office on February 8, 2021. His public service began as the Chief of the Division of Budget and Management in the early 1990’s. In the late 1990’s, he served as the Financial Advisor to the Ministry and Manager for a UNDP project that covered Personnel, Tax, and Planning reforms. In the 2000’s, Minister Udui worked in Banking and also served as the President of the National Development Bank of Palau. His private business activities have been in banking, energy consulting and in real estate. He has also served on various public and private Boards including Palau’s Banking Supervisory Board and the Palau Chamber of Commerce.

read more about team member Kaleb Udui Jr.More Info
User Image of Naoyuki Yoshino

Naoyuki Yoshino


Dr. Naoyuki Yoshino is Professor Emeritus at Keio University, Tokyo, Japan and until March 2020 was Dean of the Asian Development Bank Institute (ADBI). He obtained his PhD from Johns Hopkins University (United States) in 1979 where his thesis supervisor was Sir Alan Walters, economic adviser to former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. Dr. Yoshino has been a visiting scholar at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States) and a visiting professor at various universities including the University of New South Wales (Australia), Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques (France), and University of Gothenburg (Sweden). He has also been an assistant professor at the Statue University of New York at Buffalo and an economics professor at Keio University.

read more about team member Naoyuki YoshinoMore Info