Choose Topics


Thank You for Subscribing to the PITI-VITI Mailing List!

Telegram icon

Subscribe to our

Mailing List

Thanks for your interest in PITI-VITI and our programs! To sign up to received notifications, please enter your email address below and indicate which topics you're interested in. We do not share your information, and you can opt out of our mailing list at any time.

eldp-white Palau Economic Advisory Group Members

User Image of James Galbraith

James Galbraith


James K. Galbraith holds the Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and a professorship in Government at The University of Texas at Austin. He was executive director of the Joint Economic Committee of the United States Congress in the early 1980s, and before that, an economist for the House Banking Committee. He chaired the board of Economists for Peace and Security from 1996 to 2016 and directs The University of Texas Inequality Project. He is a managing editor of Structural Change and Economic Dynamics.

From 1993 to 1997 Galbraith served as chief technical adviser for Macroeconomic Reform to the State Planning Commission of the People's Republic of China. In 2010, he was elected to the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei. In 2014 he was co-winner of the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economics. In 2020 he received the Veblen-Commons Award of the Association for Evolutionary Economics. He holds degrees from Harvard University (AB, magna cum laude), in economics from Yale University (M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D.), and academic honors from universities in Ecuador, France and the Russian Federation. He is a Marshall Scholar; a life member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Texas Philosophical Society; and a member of the Free Economic Society, an organization of economists in Russia, chartered by Catherine the Great in 1765.

Professor Galbraith was nominated by the Palau Government and selected by the U.S Government as a delegate to the Economic Advisory Group (EAG).

Other Team Members

Other Members photo of Peter Watson

Peter Watson

Investment Banker and Policy Adviser

read more about Peter WatsonMore Info
Other Members photo of Kaleb Udui Jr.

Kaleb Udui Jr.

Minister of Finance

read more about Kaleb Udui Jr.More Info