The establishment of the Chuuk Advisory Group on Education Reform (the “Advisory Group”) represents a key outcome of the Chuuk High-Level Meeting on Education Reform, held in Weno, Chuuk, from November 2-3, 2012. Principal participants in the High-Level Meeting included representatives from the FSM National Government (led by FSM President Emmanuel Mori), Chuuk State Government (led by Governor Johnson Elimo), and the United States Department of the Interior’s Office of Insular Affairs (led by Director Nikolao Pula). At the meeting, the Chuuk State Leadership presented a ten-point Program of Action for Chuuk State Education Reform which included a proposal to "Organize and Implement an Advisory Group."

The primary obligation of the Advisory Group is to the leadership of the three parties represented at the High-Level Meeting; while the primary purpose is to enhance and accelerate the implementation of education reform in Chuuk. The Advisory Group is not intended to act as a Control Commission and it has been given no statutory powers. However, the Advisory Group is meant to be substantially more active and engaged than any oversight mechanisms that have been utilized to-date with respect to Chuuk education reform progress. It has been noted that the urgent need to achieve improvements in educational outcomes mitigated against the recent reliance of annual or semi-annual progress reports at JEMCO gatherings.

The Advisory Group is currently made up of three members: Patrick U. Tellei, EdD; Francis X. Hezel, SJ; and Thomas Bussanich.